Liverpool Won its 10th League Cup by Beating Chelsea

Captain Virgil van Dijk 33, Liverpool F.C. presented his valuable header to manager Jurgen Klopp. Chelsea has fallen victim again this time.

Liverpool beat Chelsea 1-0 to win the 2023-2024 Carabao Cup final at Wembley Stadium in London on the 26th.

With this, Liverpool set a milestone of winning 10 League Cups for the first time. It was all the more meaningful because the result was made with Klopp, who will put down the baton at the end of this season. On the other hand, Chelsea fought back tears after losing to Liverpool in the final once again following the 2021-2022 season.

Liverpool opted for a 4-3-3 formation. Harvey Elliott-Cody Gakpo-Lewis Dias, Alexis Mac Allister-Endo Wataru-Ryan Gravenberch, Andy Robertson-Van Dyke-Ibrahima Konate-Connor Bradley and Quivin Keller started.

Chelsea are 4-2-3-1. Nicola Jackson, Raheem Sterling-Connor Gallagher-Cole Palmer, Enso Fernandez-Moises Caicedo, Ben Chilwell-Libai Colwill-Axel Disasi-Malo Gusto and Georges Petrovic have made the selection list.

Chelsea aimed for the first goal. In the 20th minute of the first half, Gallagher crossed from the right, but it was not connected properly. Palmer connected the ball that flowed out to the shot, but the goalkeeper was blocked.

Injury bad news hit Liverpool. In the 27th minute of the first half, Gravenberch was stepped on by Caicedo with his ankle bent during the contest. He couldn’t play anymore, and was quickly replaced by Joe Gomez and left the stadium.

Chelsea scored the goal. Jackson penetrated the right side and sent the ball to the opposite side in the 32nd minute of the first half. It seemed that Sterling might have scored the first goal after finishing the match, but VAR showed that Jackson was offside.

Liverpool hit the ground due to the bad luck of the net. In the 40th minute of the first half, Robertson’s cross was hit in the head. However, the ball hit the net. The first half ended without a goal.

He rarely scored a goal in the second half. Enso’s heel shot in front of the goal at the seventh minute of the second half blindly turned away from the goalpost, while Elliott’s volley shot at the 13th minute of the second half was blocked by the goalkeeper’s defense.

Another goal was canceled. Van Dyke finished the free kick from Robertson with a strong header at the 15th minute of the second half. However, VAR found that Endo, who was in an offside position, was involved in scoring.

Chelsea launched a last-minute offensive, but failed to earn any income. Gallagher’s shot hit the left post at the 30th minute of the second half, and Gallagher failed to finish the one-on-one opportunity at the 40th minute of the second half. The goalkeeper also blocked the shot during extra time. Eventually, the two teams failed to reach a game within 90 minutes and entered overtime.

Liverpool finally scored in the 13th minute of the second half of extra time when the penalty shootout was approaching. Van Dyck headed a corner kick from Kostas Chimikas and scored the net. Liverpool endured the rest of the time and succeeded in lifting its 10th League Cup trophy.

“It’s the most special trophy of the 20 years,” Klopp said after the match. “I’m so happy to win the title as a member of Liverpool again. I’m so proud. We deserve it.” Liverpool is performing its last dance with Klopp, who will put down the baton after this season. 토토사이트

No Comments

Add Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *